A daily dose of creative suspense.

Mosaic Chicken George

Chicken George

Chicken George

Chicken George is a very bad chicken. He insists on scratching up my garden in his search for bugs. I am happy to be rid of bugs (because I can’t stand the way bugs touch me, nor do I like the way they look with spindly legs and sharp teeth) but jeez George do you have pull up the flowers at the same time!

This is my first mosiac sculpture. I made the armature from chicken wire and newspaper. The base is cement pored into a cake pan with rusty nails inserted dangerous side up. The legs and feet are garden claws. I covered the chicken wire body with plops of cement and then broke a bunch of dishes and stuck on the pieces with quickset and when that all dried i grouted it.

4 responses

  1. Bonnie Dampman

    Hey Kathy I Love Chicken George!!! Someday you have to teach me how to do that!!!!

    October 23, 2009 at 10:57 AM

    • katdazzle

      I will. But now it may have to wait till spring. This is definitely a warm weather activity because of all the broken dishes shards!

      October 23, 2009 at 11:14 AM

  2. I love it – all of it!!! You are beautiful, my friend, and truly inspiring and I can’t wait to see what your next creation is!

    October 23, 2009 at 11:04 AM

  3. SHERRY

    Love it!

    October 23, 2009 at 11:32 AM

Leave a Reply

