A daily dose of creative suspense.

Frustration

This face should not be so hard.

I’m trying to sculpt Ry, and I am frustrated. I just can’t seem to get him to look how I want him to. GRRRRRR! I’ve reworked it several times. Even started over a little bigger. That one is worse. So I’m going to let it set, till the frustration mellows into a new idea of how to push this mud around to look like an eight year old boy.

I can do this, I know I can, I know I can. Even if I have to redo it 5000 times till I get it. I think one of the things that really drives me crazy is the eye thing. When I paint I always paint the eyes first to they can keep me company. I HATE being alone. Maybe that’s what is wrong. Maybe I should go down to St. Peters Village and sit on the deck and sculpt. It is a beautiful day. I wonder if it is too windy. My pottery teacher, Sandy Malamed, said that the wind dries the clay faster than heat.

That’s the fun and frustration of learning something new. I don’t know what works or doesn’t work. I know what I want, what’s in my minds eye, I just don’t know how to get my hands and materials to come together to create that image? I do love a challenge.

One response

  1. If you don’t like ’em, I’ll sure as heck take ’em!

    June 3, 2011 at 8:02 AM

Leave a Reply

